My son has been fascinated with Eleanor Cameron’s Mushroom Planet series of fictional books for children. The first book in the series–The Wonderful Flight to the Mushroom Planet–details the adventures of a young boy who lives out a dream to travel to a planet “just his size.” Apparently, this theme was born out of a statement and wish made by the author’s own son. My own son has recently taken an interest in space travel and has expressed a desire to travel to the Mushroom Planet in the series. While I could not realize a Mushroom Planet for him, I found a wonderful Mars carved from popular from one of my favorite toy makers on etsy.com; mamaroots. We’ve hung the little planet over my son’s loft bed so that he can see it any time he wants. He is also equipped with a flashlight so that he can view his planet in the evening after the lights have gone out. My son has developed a relatively new fear of zombies and ghosts and other things that go bump in the night, and we hope that the planet will be a welcome distraction.

Mars

Mars

