Many of my lesson plans call for the use of puppets. I had to think long and hard about how to pull this off. I originally intended to use this huge, standup piece of cardboard as a “stage.” However, this entailed that I hide behind the thing and hold my hands high above my head–while I crouched down–for quite some time. After one showing, I realized that never in this life time would I try that again. (A car accident pretty much killed my ability to lookup or hold my hands over my head for any period of time without suffering excruciating pain. OUCH!) Anyway, I had relatively recently obtained a sewing machine through a friend. I am quite aware of beautiful fabric puppet theaters that are meant to hang in doorways, and I decided to try and make one myself. In fact, I found a tutorial to makes such a theater on the Crafterholic site. Of course, I would discover– only after purchasing yards of fabric–that the sewing machine did not work. I refused to be deterred, however. I sewed the whole thing up by hand! It’s lopsided, but it works and my son thinks it’s fantastic. I figure, that’s all that matters, in the grand scheme of things.

Puppet Theater

Puppet Theater

