Due to limited funds and time constraints, it is necessary to produce the occasional educational game without the hoopla, planning and sheer material cost that has gone into some of our other ventures. I had intended to create several learning games around September’s theme, but I needed something incredibly inexpensive yet fun. For some unknown reason–probably the hours spent ruminating on topics like “Game” and “Frugal”–I thought of some of the games that I had seen on the Price’s Right. I haven’t actually seen the show in decades, but I remember some of the more interesting moments. After further thought, I realized that I could repurpose some of the game ideas for homeschool. Hence, Buggo! was born one night.

Buggo! as the name suggests revolves around the tactics that insects use to migrate, hibernate or adapt to survive winter. Buggo! consists of a series of paper bags that each hide a beehive, map to warmer climes, leaf dens or other means employed by insects for survival. The child then pulls an insect card out of a basket and then tries to guess which bag holds the corresponding “wintering” behavior/resource. But, watch out! There are threats lurking in a few extra bags along with a coupon redeemable for a small toy. Obviously, Buggo! became a HUGE success and was requested often.

Buggo!

Buggo!

