We are fortunate to live quite near to quite a few apple groves or orchards. Apple picking is apparently a seasonal excursion for many families in the area. We decided to join in the fun and pick apples at a location close to home. First, I was surprised by the sheer cost of apples. They ain’t cheap! Well, they are if you buy them in the store. However, picking one’s own apples is downright exorbitant. Next, I was amazed by the amount of mosquitos and other biting bugs that swarmed around the trees. The bug situation reminded me of camping by a swamp in the summer. Not for me. Finally, the quality of the apples was lacking. That was the biggest disappointment. I apparently suffered from the delusion that handpicked apples would taste exponentially better than store bought apples. However, the handpicked apples we took home were bruised with animal bites and soft spots. Nevertheless, I think this could become a transition. I just have to re-calibrate my expectations for next year.

Hitching a Ride

Hitching a Ride


Apples Galore

Apples Galore


Getting Down to Business

Getting Down to Business


Passing the Smell Test

Passing the Smell Test

