I fondly recall mention of Johnny Appleseed back in my own childhood days. Over time, though, I forgot that Johnny Appleseed was actually a real person. Instead, I came to think of him as a Pecos Bill or John Bunyan type of character; more legend than history. One of my recent library finds was an old book on the man, and it was as revelatory as it was boring. It was boring in so far as the book was written in a style that was as dry as could be. It was completely matter of fact on the subject of a very bizarre and complex man. Though I wanted to regal my son with the biography of this colorful individual, I felt that I was torturing him with the over dull story book with very busy pictures. Fortunately, I came across Shelley Duvall’s Tall Tales & Legends video series. The series borders on the hokey, and it’s filled with puns (yawn). However, it is honestly a fun video to watch. Martin Short’s presentation really brought this complicated man to life, and my son was captivated by the man’s struggles with nonconformity and wanting to belong. It’s definitely worth half an hour or so of your life.

Steven Kellogg's Johnny Appleseed

Steven Kellogg's Johnny Appleseed

Shelley Duvall's Tall Tales & Legends

Shelley Duvall's Tall Tales & Legends

