I was fortunate enough to notice that a library in the area was hosting an educational Pow Wow. My family has some Cherokee and Iroquois lineage, and there is enthusiasm in some parts of my family for Native American culture. While the enthusiasm escaped me to some extent, I have gone to Pow Wows and other venues showcasing the culture. Consequently, I wanted my son to have some familiarity with Pow Wows, and I decided the time was now, as it dovetailed naturally with my upcoming lessons on the Pilgrims and Thanksgiving. The Pow Wow itself was simple and quite fun. I wouldn’t really call it a Pow Wow. It was more of a historical presentation on the role and nature of Pow Wows in the culture. After a brief lesson with pictorial aides, children were allowed to play with drums and other instruments as all presents joined in a simple circle dance.

Pow Wow

Pow Wow

