We have started our November lessons with a focus on remembrance. Using a guide that we purchased from the Little Acorn Learning Web site, we have blended All Souls Day with Veterans Day and a general sense of remembering those we are thankful to have had in our life. This is a bit abstract for my young son to grasp. However, old photos, a story called Nana Upstairs/Nana Downstairs and a movie called Granpa seem to be doing the job.

Here are some large glass votives that we have made for the “remembrance” section of our nature table. I hadn’t anticipated a remembrance theme to the month, so I didn’t have the time to gather pictures of deceased family members. I hope to continue on with this theme next year, and I will be adding such pictures to a section of the nature table.

