While I was searching through the library for Halloween-oriented videos and DVDs, I came across an old VCR tape with the words “The Halloween Tree” scrawled on a piece of paper. The original label was gone. There was no indication on the tape as to what the VCR contained. It was entirely mysterious. I already had some Goosebumps type DVDs in hand. However, I have seen Goosebumps features on many occasions and they are decent yet fairly predictable and corny. I decided therefore to put one of the DVDs back and take a risk with The Halloween Tree. Boy, was I surprised. This is a great tale crafted by Ray Bradbury. It tells a very compelling life and death story using Bradbury’s own words, and it provides insight into the confluence of cultures that contributed to the modern Halloween. I love this video and may purchase a copy so that we can watch it every year.

The Halloween Tree

The Halloween Tree

