Eshu has put quite a bit of time into crafting his epic letter to Santa. As far as I can tell, he’s requesting another round of commercially-branded, plastic junk that will just end up in the trash a week later. **Sigh.** He has yet to get over the mountain of German import toys in which Santa heavily invested last year. Despite the fact that Eshu enjoys the German toys, he insists Santa doesn’t love him. If he did, Santa would obviously shop more local venues. LOL. Toy choices aside, I have got to keep reminding myself to get my story straight regarding these Santa letters. Eshu is convinced that he received nothing but education toys last year, due to the fact that I forgot to mail his Santa letter. This year, I had planned a more elaborate method of handling this Santa mail. I was going to have Eshu place the letter in a hand-made paper shoe on St. Nick’s Day. That fell through. Then, I was going to have him place his letter in a St. Nick’s sack. This is not traditional. This is an “innovation” created by American Dutch persons living in Wisconsin, if I recall correctly. That didn’t work out. Then, I realized that St. Nick’s Day isn’t even our holiday. There’s no rational for me to remain beholden to it. It might possibly make more sense to put the letter in the tree itself or in the window. Apparently–and this needs to be looked into–these letters are dispatched in this manner for children awaiting visits from the Christkindle. If nothing else, I can call it a “tradition” and save myself a stamp and/or the need to make some other homemade object to convey/bear my son’s list.

Letter to Santa

Letter to Santa

