St. Nick’s Day certainly was not “all that.” I do not think I did such a great job incorporating this Dutch Holiday into our overall holiday festivities. I originally posited Nick as a sort of “helper” who came to collect Christmas wish lists and left a few small trinkets to tide waiting children over. Not only did we forget the whole “wish list in the shoe” idea, my son saw a conflicting DVD that provided another explanation for St. Nick himself. Here, St. Nick was described as Santa himself. Oh, my. Fortunately, my son didn’t call me out on that. The whole idea of St. Nick Day sort of went by the wayside. That’s all well and good as I am a Krampus fanatic, and St. Nick simply doesn’t compare. Nevertheless, my son made me some cute ornaments, and that’s good enough for me.

St. Nick Ornament (1)

St. Nick Ornament (1)

St. Nick Ornament (2)

St. Nick Ornament (2)

St. Nick Ornament (3)

St. Nick Ornament (3)

