My son and I recently attended a production of Dicken’s A Christmas Carol staged by a local Waldorf school. The production was fantastic. Imaginative use of the theater space, the introduction of natural elements such as tree branches and the introduction of songs focusing on poverty and compassion added to the production. It was yet another reminder of the importance of Unitarian Charles Dickens important contributions to the evolution of Christmas sentiments. In fact, on Christmas Eve, I am contemplating going to a special Unitarian lecture on the topic of Dicken’s secular contributions to the season. Ordinarily, I would bypass an event due to my son’s activity levels. However, his behavior during the stage production show that he does have the stamina and overall ability to sit quietly for an extended period of time.

