Admittedly, this is **not** the typical Santa picture. LOL. However, there’s quite a story to this picture. Previously in the week, my son and I had made an impromptu stop at a used book store. We were surprised to find that this bookstore had a meet-and-greet Santa center. More surprisingly, no one was around whatsoever to partake of the Santa offering. This made my son the one and only child in the area that Santa could “greet.” Well, Santa went above and beyond his duties. He went so far beyond the parameters of the typical Santa encounter that he nearly ruined our Christmas. How did he do this, one might ask. I shall tell you. When prompted for his Christmas list, my son simply stated that he wanted a truck. Santa wasn’t impressed. He wanted more details. My son blurted out that he wanted a “real” truck. Oh, ho ho! At this point, Santa clicked into gear like a used car salesman. He started asking my son what make and model was preferred. He wanted to know the tire size, the desired options, the transmission type (i.e., manual, automatic), and whether or not satellite radio was optional. Santa then stated quite clearly that he would try and get my son a fully loaded, red GMC truck with black interior and satellite radio. And, he mumbled something about it essentially being illegal, but he would try! My son didn’t pick up on the “try” part, and he went about telling all his family and friends that we were definitely getting a new truck, because Santa had said so.

Now, fast-forward to the following Sunday. I confirmed that Santa would be making his annual Christmas visit to the Sunday school kids. This was not surprising, as it is the tradition. Surprising was the fact that someone I know would be Santa. I pulled the man aside and explained my truck dilemma. He was quite understanding and conspired to tell my son that there was a “shipping disaster” that would–sadly–make a Christmas delivery impossible. LOLOL. In the picture above, he is trying to whisper in my son’s ear that no “real truck” will be forthcoming. The horror!

Santa's Big Secret

Santa's Big Secret

