I had envisioned a Christmas Eve with folks singing Christmas carols, while I played the organ. Hah! That didn’t happen. The idea of singing was apparently offensive to some people. I can’t sing, and I discovered that the book that I was using was only useful if a person plays the organ two-handed. Yes, I know that keyboards are best played with two hands. However, the violin was my instrument of choice, and I only played the notes on the treble clef. Now, I found to my surprise that the music just did not sound right in sections unless one played the notes associated with the bass clef. So much for that idea. I did discover that playing one handed was more than sufficient for playing the many Winter-themed songs in the Wynstones Press Winter book. That will be useful when we return to homeschooling proper and need music for puppet shows and other seasonal activities.

Breaking Out the Organ

Breaking Out the Organ

