New Years is possibly my least favorite holiday barring something like Presidents Day. I have no real interest or attachment to the holiday, and I never have any plans for the eve or day itself. This year, I decided to make a change. I would celebrate the day for the sake of my son. However, I wanted to do something in keeping with our Waldorf spirit. It took quite a bit of time to identify an activity that really spoke to the sorts of activities that we want to pursue in our Waldorf homeschooling experience. In the interim, I came across several crafts that would fill up the day with reasonable fun.

Here is the impromptu “crafts” table that I set up to build the excitement.

Craft Table

Craft Table

Here are the some of the actual settings on the crafts table.

Here, my son’s new 2012 ornaments lay drying. The ornaments consist of glittery pasta glued to cardboard numbers. They will be hung with ribbon once they are dry.

Drying Ornaments

Drying Ornaments

Here’s a completed noise maker created out of a decorated soda can filled with rocks.

Completed Noise Maker

Completed Noise Maker

This is one of those surprise containers that is shaped like a firecracker. I slipped some glowsticks inside, when my son was not looking.

Surprise Inside

Surprise Inside

Here is our little time capsule. My son had an awful time choosing objects to toss into the capsule. He did not like the idea of a permanent separation from any of his little toys or mementos. I intend to store these in the attic until he is at least 18 or 21.

Completed Time Capsule

Completed Time Capsule

Here is my proud little crafter.

Job Well Done

Job Well Done

